Starting A Quake Server?

Online games, how to get online, and anything involving Dreamcast online can be discussed here.
User avatar
Radkin
PSOaholic
Posts: 2202
Contact:

Re: Starting A Quake Server?

Post#11 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:50 pm

Thank you guys for the help, if someone can make
a server possible, please do it at your best
convienence, and don't make it a hassel. If
it can't be done or you are experiencing problems
within the process, you do not have to go any farther.
But if someone can accomplish this, it would be
greatly appreciated! :mrgreen:
Regards,
Radkin


DC-Talk Store
My Youtube
Steam ID: RadkinDC

User avatar
Tsukasa
dark night
Posts: 59

Re: Starting A Quake Server?

Post#12 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:39 pm

Sweet!
I'll set it up as soon as I can!
Zombify the Dreamcast
PSO SchtSERV
Tsukasa - FoNewm

Not Dead Yet

User avatar
Tsukasa
dark night
Posts: 59

Re: Starting A Quake Server?

Post#13 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 9:02 pm

grimgravy014 wrote:Try this torrent: http://thepiratebay.org/tor/3974885/Quake_3_(working_good_on_10_5_1)#filelistContainer

Once you download that, you'll have to patch the game to v1.16n.

Get v1.16n here: http://www.fileplanet.com/index.asp?section=258&page=2&file=38972

Then you'll need the Dreamcast mappacks.

Get those here: http://files.filefront.com/Dreamcast+Map+Packs/;9734461;/fileinfo.html

The two filefront links are broken, it just brings me to the homepage.

Edit: Found what I needed
Edit#2: I need an Account and Password for Fileplanet it and it costs money so no dice there. Anybody got anything?
Edit:#3: Found out it didnt need money.
Zombify the Dreamcast
PSO SchtSERV
Tsukasa - FoNewm

Not Dead Yet

User avatar
Tsukasa
dark night
Posts: 59

Re: Starting A Quake Server?

Post#14 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 9:15 pm

Okay 3rd post
Do you guys want a
Free for All Server
Team Deathmatch Server
Capture the Flag Server
Or a Tournament Server

You can only pick one as thats all that can run.
I suppose I could do a FFA server and then when we plan something, I could switch it over to a TDeath server.
Zombify the Dreamcast
PSO SchtSERV
Tsukasa - FoNewm

Not Dead Yet

User avatar
grimgravy014
fire
Posts: 84

Re: Starting A Quake Server?

Post#15 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 10:13 pm

Most servers hosted today are just FFA.

Even the modded servers are FFA.
Image

User avatar
Tsukasa
dark night
Posts: 59

Re: Starting A Quake Server?

Post#16 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 10:19 pm

Haha Grim you gave me a Mac install
Would you perchance have a DC cdi version?
Zombify the Dreamcast
PSO SchtSERV
Tsukasa - FoNewm

Not Dead Yet

User avatar
Radkin
PSOaholic
Posts: 2202
Contact:

Re: Starting A Quake Server?

Post#17 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 10:38 pm

FFA would be good, but a Team Deathmatch is also cool.
Regards,
Radkin


DC-Talk Store
My Youtube
Steam ID: RadkinDC

Mytho
dark night
Posts: 50

Re: Starting A Quake Server?

Post#18 » Wed Jun 25, 2008 12:21 am

Impulse, I wouldn't try running a server over Wi-Fi. Might cut out and all that. Would just stick with a wired connection if you can.

More Quake 3 servers are always welcome, especially vanilla servers.

User avatar
Tsukasa
dark night
Posts: 59

Re: Starting A Quake Server?

Post#19 » Wed Jun 25, 2008 1:47 am

I'm more of a Team Deathmatch kinda guy

and I have a wired connection
Zombify the Dreamcast
PSO SchtSERV
Tsukasa - FoNewm

Not Dead Yet

User avatar
Radkin
PSOaholic
Posts: 2202
Contact:

Re: Starting A Quake Server?

Post#20 » Wed Jun 25, 2008 10:23 am

I love team deathmatches, does someone want to do
that for our srver?
Regards,
Radkin


DC-Talk Store
My Youtube
Steam ID: RadkinDC

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Online”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users