How to create a CDI from scratch?

Moderator: VasiliyRS

Zombieatemyneighbor
undertow
Posts: 30

How to create a CDI from scratch?

Post#1 » Wed Nov 14, 2018 5:27 pm

Hi, I am trying to create cdi from scratch. I am stuck with step 22 in this instruction.

https://pastebin.com/jfFs6jdM

Command prompt keeps saying like this

F:\Sonic_Adv>mkisofs -C 0,11702 -V Sonic_Adv -sort output.txt -l -o data.iso extracted
mkisofs: Warning: -C specified without -M: old session data will not be merged.
mkisofs: No such file or directory. Invalid node - Sonic-Adv

------------------------

I got a different error when I tried Sonic instead of Sonic_Adv.

mkisofs: Missing pathspec.
Usage: mkisofs [options] file...

User avatar
Jenkins
Cracked LCD
Posts: 406
Contact:

Re: How to create a CDI from scratch?

Post#2 » Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:55 pm

Some standard questions which may help: are you in the correct/same folder? Is the filename correct?

Zombieatemyneighbor
undertow
Posts: 30

Re: How to create a CDI from scratch?

Post#3 » Sat Nov 17, 2018 5:49 pm

Jenkins wrote:Some standard questions which may help: are you in the correct/same folder? Is the filename correct?


Thank you for replying. I am going to show you pictures. One of pictures is output. I hope I added the right line at the bottom in output. I placed mkisofs in sonic folder. It should work fine.
Attachments
extracted folder.jpg
Sonic folder.jpg
output.jpg

Zombieatemyneighbor
undertow
Posts: 30

Re: How to create a CDI from scratch?

Post#4 » Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:18 am

I want to update details here. I keep getting a message like this

mkisofs: Warning: -C specified without -M: old session data will not be merged.

Is that normal to you like that?

I typed the command like this now.

Code: Select all

mkisofs -C 0,11702 -V sonic -sort sorttxt.txt -l -o data.iso data


Note: I changed folder names. I changed from Sonic to sonic and extracted to data.

mrneo240
Outtrigger
Posts: 454

Re: How to create a CDI from scratch?

Post#5 » Wed Nov 28, 2018 8:15 pm

Message is fine.

Zombieatemyneighbor
undertow
Posts: 30

Re: How to create a CDI from scratch?

Post#6 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 1:27 am

Really? After I did that and used bin2boot.exe, I tried to test cdi file while using an emulator. It shows me that it doesn't recognize cdi file. It went back to Play, memory card, and etc.

User avatar
DR TEAMCAST
Uber
Posts: 1011
Contact:

Re: How to create a CDI from scratch?

Post#7 » Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:00 am

the best thing you should do is try getting a simple homebrew program to boot on a CDI from scratch before a game. its most likely you don't have the correct LBA hacks or some kind of copy protection

you can just rip a working binary from a 11702 CDI if you can find one (CDIrip tells you if its a 11702 CDI by its console output) and place it in your working directory. just make sure you get the proper region\version CDI for what you're trying to play, and you use the same bootfile.bin
ImageImage
Forum for Dreamcast and Saturn browsers http://bb.dreampipe.net
Media, News, Events and more for your Sega Dreamcast internet browser at http://dreampipe.net

Zombieatemyneighbor
undertow
Posts: 30

Re: How to create a CDI from scratch?

Post#8 » Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:09 pm

DR TEAMCAST wrote:the best thing you should do is try getting a simple homebrew program to boot on a CDI from scratch before a game. its most likely you don't have the correct LBA hacks or some kind of copy protection

you can just rip a working binary from a 11702 CDI if you can find one (CDIrip tells you if its a 11702 CDI by its console output) and place it in your working directory. just make sure you get the proper region\version CDI for what you're trying to play, and you use the same bootfile.bin


I should show you the picture of cdirip. It shows me that it's 0 LBA. It should be 11702.

And the other one from the link says

Code: Select all

If it asks about patching for winCE, press N (at least in the vast majority of cases) and let it do it's thing.


When I saw this message from bin2boot, it asked me the question. I clicked n hotkey.

And I checked mark on all regions on ip.ban while I used ipbin4win.

I placed IP.bin (bootfile.bin) into data (extracted) folder.

Please correct me if I am doing wrong. Thank you.
Attachments
result.jpg
question.jpg

Zombieatemyneighbor
undertow
Posts: 30

Re: How to create a CDI from scratch?

Post#9 » Tue Dec 04, 2018 3:38 am

I need to update new details here. I find it interesting after I typed a command in command prompt like this

Code: Select all

cdirip image.cdi -cdrecord


It says

Found 2 session(s)

Session 1 has 1 track(s)
Saving Track: 1 Type: Mode2/2336 Size: 511178 LBA: 0 [cut: 2] [ISO]

Session 2 has 1 track9s)
Saving Track: 2 Type: Mode2/2336 Size: 302 LBA: 522578 [cut: 2] [ISO]

Does that mean I have to type the command like this?

Code: Select all

mkisofs -C 0,522578 -V sonic -sort sorttxt.txt -l -o data.iso data


Please tell me what do you think of this sorttxt.txt. I changed from \ to /

Thank you again.
Attachments
sorttxt.jpg

Zombieatemyneighbor
undertow
Posts: 30

Re: How to create a CDI from scratch?

Post#10 » Sat Mar 09, 2019 5:35 pm

*bump* It's been a while. I finally got back on track. I managed to create cdi and get it work. A problem is that the game is in Japanese language instead of English. It should be in English language.

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Modifications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users