New Updated OpenborDC Engine Beta6 with Pc menu

Place for discussing homebrew games, development, new releases and emulation.

Moderator: VasiliyRS

Poll: What improvement, do you want, to see the most ?

Ported Video FMV cutscenes
4
24%
Scale Rending
3
18%
Change's from new src ported down
10
59%
Total votes: 17

User avatar
Ripfire
dark night
Posts: 64

Re: New Updated Openbor engine Game's posted

Post#51 » Wed Jul 03, 2019 8:52 pm

Not only in dreamshell does it also crash in physical format (CD-R).
Seeing the code you published and will use some concepts that you incorporated into the OpenBOR for the pFBA-DC. ;)

No solamente en dreamshell colapsa sino tambien en formato fisico (CD-R).
Viendo el código que publicaste y utilizare algunos conceptos que incorporaste al OpenBOR para el pFBA-DC. ;)
Image

User avatar
Ian Micheal
DC-Talk Addict
Posts: 518
Contact:

Re: New Updated Openbor engine Game's posted

Post#52 » Wed Jul 03, 2019 9:31 pm

I have seen it run on dreamshell I have a beta tester.. Does not crash at all on alien's clash my freind got to the end of the game on dreamshell
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeVCRA ... whHyKp6OsA my youtube channel of my projects running

User avatar
Ian Micheal
DC-Talk Addict
Posts: 518
Contact:

Re: New Updated Openbor engine Game's posted

Post#53 » Wed Jul 03, 2019 10:28 pm

Beta5 Release Low memory use
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Beta5 with custom boot loader bin2bin Should fix loading on a real dreamcast it did on radquake For all the people having trouble use this
link
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ekbuX8 ... BX1G-/view
confirmed working on a real dreamcast :)


-Updated Png to new version -- should fix colour palette no longer custom.
-Lowest memory use -upto 1.5 meg less
-Small bin size less memory wasted
-Sprite count no longer set to 500max

Full source code
link
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1_7Pzw ... -19ZXzwDEw

Beta5 bin size 1026kb
Beta5membinsize.png


Beta4 bin size 1687kb
Beta4membinsize.png


500k of memory optimization -- main focus
Last edited by Ian Micheal on Thu Jul 04, 2019 12:42 am, edited 4 times in total.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeVCRA ... whHyKp6OsA my youtube channel of my projects running

User avatar
Ian Micheal
DC-Talk Addict
Posts: 518
Contact:

Re: New Updated Openbor engine Game's posted

Post#54 » Wed Jul 03, 2019 11:11 pm

Beta5 Release Low memory use with custom boot loader WORKING on a real dreamcast
---------------------------------------------------------------------
===============================================================================================================================
Beta5 with custom boot loader bin2bin Should fix loading on a real dreamcast it did on radquake For all the people having trouble use this Working tested
link

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ekbuX ... ZXlkxBX1G-
===========================================================================================================================



Full source code

link
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1_7Pzw ... -19ZXzwDEw


I made this using, my custom, bin2bin boot loader, ready made of the dde bor game.. Double dragon Extreme

https://mega.nz/#!qzh0wIYJ!MkeNSaOrKp1w ... eYEcpSlxH0

I use a very custom kos Compiler setting's .. Sometime's you need my boot loader..
So try this if it did not work, on your real dreamcast.. tested by Ivan GR thank you :) it's working now
+
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeVCRA ... whHyKp6OsA my youtube channel of my projects running

User avatar
Ripfire
dark night
Posts: 64

Re: New Updated Openbor engine Game's posted

Post#55 » Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:30 pm

I'm Sorry my friend, this beta version still has the same problem for my games. :cry: But it's a good opportunity to start from zero and update my games to 640x480 @ 16bits to give DC users high-resolution games... ;)

Lo siento mi amigo, esta versión beta sigue con el mismo problema para mis juegos. :cry: Pero es una buena oportunidad de comenzar desde cero y actualizar mis juegos a 640x480 @ 16bits para darle a los usuarios de DC juegos de alta resolucion... ;)
Image

User avatar
Ian Micheal
DC-Talk Addict
Posts: 518
Contact:

Re: New Updated Openbor engine Game's posted

Post#56 » Fri Jul 05, 2019 1:01 pm

Ripfire wrote:I'm Sorry my friend, this beta version still has the same problem for my games. :cry: But it's a good opportunity to start from zero and update my games to 640x480 @ 16bits to give DC users high-resolution games... ;)

Lo siento mi amigo, esta versión beta sigue con el mismo problema para mis juegos. :cry: Pero es una buena oportunidad de comenzar desde cero y actualizar mis juegos a 640x480 @ 16bits para darle a los usuarios de DC juegos de alta resolucion... ;)




Hi ripfire,

Code: Select all

libpng warning: Application built with libpng-1.2.8 but running with 1.6.19

libpng warning: Application built with libpng-1.2.8 but running with 1.6.19


I ran your game's thru the debug log. it is asking for PNG1.2.8 i was using PNG1.6.19 new one.. It say cant do 8x8 palette BUILT this version with PNG1.2.8 not PNG1.6.19 it was making it crash.. This may fix it.. worth a try It's the only thing on the debug log that was coming up when loading your games.

Here is a version built with PNG1.2.8 like it ask's
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1PgfER ... SDYQd3UZTL

I played it on nulldc thru a few level's I might have a older version of your pak file.. I'm trying to fix the problem.. It will take beta testing and debug info. I have many version of the png.lib and header's

============================================================================================================================
Cache enable

Beta5 cache enabled ,Png 1.6.19 Lowest memory use.. Bin size 992kb
https://drive.google.com/open?id=14g6DC ... gwfD_nwP6i


I had the wrong header file's this one is correct, try it as well. This has the cache system back to normal.. If it work's on any other version it should on this..



Running on cache enable your game run's out of memory

Code: Select all

Level Loading:   'data/niveles/3-1.txt'
Total Ram: 16777216 Bytes
 Free Ram: 946180 Bytes
 Used Ram: 15831036 Bytes

Requested sbrk_base 0x8d020000, was 0x8cfbd000, diff 405504
kernel panic: out of memory; about to run over kernel stack



tmntremixbeta5.png

tmntremixbeta52.png



Also, there is a error in the first scene it keep's drawing water slowing it down..

Code: Select all

drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing water ...
drawing


Should not do that.. error in script

Code: Select all

Can't play music file 'data/music/gameover'

Can't play music file 'data/music/remix'


cache disable version it does not after only 3 scene's



I will show cache disable version change..
Massive amount saved check this one to normal one with cache.. 4meg less used.. yes it's a problem on your game
tmntcachedisable.png

tmntcachedisable2.png


No crash still has memory to play other scene's

To disable cache data/video.txt

Here is tmntremix cdi running on beta 5 low ,memory cache disable
Link I made this image to test the game, try my CDI
https://mega.nz/#!zzQH3S5B!-u1vdAxOfnxR ... 7Eh2HHeQnE
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeVCRA ... whHyKp6OsA my youtube channel of my projects running

User avatar
Ripfire
dark night
Posts: 64

Re: New Updated Openbor engine Game's posted

Post#57 » Fri Jul 05, 2019 8:52 pm

I have tested your new beta version with tmnt v1.11 (version 1.23 corrects the errors you indicated) and it is perfect :) Unfortunately version 3.0 is a new game since the sprites were patched with pal.act to obtain brighter colors with the lowest possible weight in 8-bit :ugeek: the previous betas versions do not complete the load and possibly be the patch mode of pal.act :cry:

Thank you for all this titanic work that you have done, I will try this beta version and I will give you my opinion. :D

He probado tu nueva version beta 5 con tmnt v1.11 (la version 1.23 se corrige los errores que indicaste) y va de perfecto ;) Desafortunadamente, la versión 3.0 es un juego nuevo ya que los sprites fueron parcheados con pal.act para obtener colores más brillantes con el menor peso posible en 8 bits. :ugeek: las versiones betas anterior no completa la carga y posiblemente sea el modo parche de pal.act :cry:

Gracias por todo este trabajo titanico que haz hecho, probare esta versión beta y te daré mi opinión. :D
Image

User avatar
Ian Micheal
DC-Talk Addict
Posts: 518
Contact:

Re: New Updated Openbor engine Game's posted

Post#58 » Sun Jul 07, 2019 3:54 am

Hi,
Since , downporting change's from the new openbor source code is winning the poll i have started with this..
I have down ported SDL correct 320x240 8,16,32bit SDL rending code from openbor version 6xxxx to openbor dreamcast 4111

check this topic for info
viewtopic.php?f=52&t=11856

Old version SDL rending for dreamcast Beta5 and official openbordc4111
spd2old.png


New Version SDL rending for dreamcast Beta 6 downported from version 6xxx
spd2.png


We all so , now have full transparencies,shadow and correct colour's for 16bit palette and 32bit palette, 320x240 is fast 640x480 very slow
also , in the video.txt you can put custom res like 640x360 etc In video.txt video 640x360 dont have to use, video 1 , 2 ,3 etc Title's and menu's and scene will not scale.. But gameplay should I have ported stretching..

This is my thinking it out here.. the pc menu selector is now working :) :D :D :D
Well i have been holding off ,for a release because i was working on porting the pc menu selector, to dreamcast, i have done that it boots, finds the pak file's displays, them, but cant find it on the cd.. error's out on level.txt.. I dont know why right now.. I think beta6 will have to have no menu selector for now.. I really wanted! to get this working for you guys... I have hit a error i cant track down today, here is the progress....

Menu ported to the dc port.. Notice finding all pak file's
menuobdcsdl.png

Example of it showing the previews
menuobdcsdl2.png


menuobdcsdl3.png

Code: Select all

KallistiOS Git revision v2.0.0-303-g5547ad7-dirty:
  Wed Jul  3 19:39:32 EDT 2019
  dogbox2@dogbox2-PC:/opt/toolchains/dc/kos
Total Ram: 16777216 Bytes
 Free Ram: 13553668 Bytes
 Used Ram: 3223548 Bytes

Total Ram: 16777216 Bytes
 Free Ram: 13549572 Bytes
 Used Ram: 3227644 Bytes

OpenBoR v3.0 Build IMRBETA 6 81632, Compile Date: Jul  7 2019

Game Selected: HeadHunters.pak

FileCaching System Init......   unable to find pak file on cd
Disabled
Initializing video............
'data/video.txt' not found.
Initialized video.............  320x240 (Mode: 0, Depth: 8 Bit)

Loading menu.txt.............   Done!
Loading fonts................   Done!
Timer init...................   Done!
Initialize Sound..............
snd_init(): loading 3332 bytes into SPU RAM
snd_stream: alloc'd channels 0/1
Loading sprites..............   Done!
Loading level order..........
********** An Error Occurred **********
*            Shutting Down            *

Error loading level list from data/levels.txtTotal Ram: 16777216 Bytes
 Free Ram: 12013572 Bytes
 Used Ram: 4763644 Bytes

Release level data...........   Done!
Release graphics data........   Done!
Release game data............


Release game data............   Done!
Release timer................   Done!
Release input hardware.......   Done!
Release sound system.........   Done!
Release FileCaching System...   Done!

**************** Done *****************

Error loading level list from data/levels.txtError in dc\mem\sb.cpp:sb_WriteMem:
459  -> ERROR :wrong size write on register ; offset=320 , data=400,sz=2
Error in dc\mem\sb.cpp:sb_WriteMem:463  -> Write to System Control Regs , not  i
mplemented , addr=5f74e4,data=1fffff


At the moment i will have to take a break . Menu does work but it still only boots the one game named bor.pak it does show all the other games and even show's previews while selecting them , but it does not load them Only bor.pak . Beta6 without the menu selector will be out later tonight , with full sourcecode..


Well scatch that i now have the whole thing working and the openbor menu selector :) Fixed my errors

All i can say is, it helped me using this post as a dev log :) this is a great place :)
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeVCRA ... whHyKp6OsA my youtube channel of my projects running

User avatar
Ian Micheal
DC-Talk Addict
Posts: 518
Contact:

Re: New Updated OpenborDC Engine Beta6

Post#59 » Sun Jul 07, 2019 10:58 pm

I have released beta 6 read 1st topic post for all updates...
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeVCRA ... whHyKp6OsA my youtube channel of my projects running

User avatar
Anthony817
Shark Patrol
Posts: 2723

Re: New Updated OpenborDC Engine Beta6

Post#60 » Sun Jul 07, 2019 11:15 pm

You are a fucking machine brother! You are doing so much for the community it is amazing! That PC menu will come in handy for sure! Maybe we can have super large 4GB .cdi images of game compilations so we can load them up on our optical drive emulators. A 700mb cdr is no longer a limitation for us.
Image

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “New Releases/Homebrew/Emulation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]