Doom for DC FAQ

User avatar
Impulse
Admin
Posts: 2045

Doom for DC FAQ

Post#1 » Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:22 pm

Chilly Willy from DCEmulation has made an update to his DC for Doom that fixed the networking mode bugs. This port can technically be considered an addition to the online games for Dreamcast.

Original post with download link: http://dcemulation.org/phpBB/viewtopic. ... 2&t=100351

Download with original files(doom shareware wad) and self boot image: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=VXQZIKI9

How to play in network mode:

1. Boot up Doom then enter 'Network Settings' menu.
2. From DCDoom readme.txt:
"To start a two player game of DOOM:

1: Make certain both players are using identical WAD files and
game settings.

2: The first player should make sure Play Network Game is 'on',
the Player Number is set to '1', and that Network Player #1
is set to the network address of the second player." (Go into Network Type Settings menu to enter IP address of other players)

"3: The second player should make sure Play Network Game is 'on',
the Player Number is set to '2', and that Network Player #1
is set to the network address of the first player.

To start a three player game of DOOM:

1: Make certain all players are using identical WAD files and
game settings.

2: The first player should make sure Play Network Game is 'on',
the Player Number is set to '1', that Network Player #1 is
set to the network address of the second player, and that
Network Player #2 is set to the network address of the third
player.

3: The second player should make sure Play Network Game is 'on',
the Player Number is set to '2', that Network Player #1 is
set to the network address of the first player, and that
Network Player #2 is set to the network address of the third
player.

4: The third player should make sure Play Network Game is 'on',
the Player Number is set to '3', that Network Player #1 is
set to the network address of the first player, and that
Network Player #2 is set to the network address of the second
player."

3. Adjust other settings as desired. Make sure everyone else that will be playing uses the same settings.
4. Back out of Network Mode menu and press B to start Doom when ready. Player 1 is the host and must start their game first. Then other players can join and the game will start once all players have connected.

When scheduling games you might want to show interest by creating a topic and private messaging anyone who wants to play so you can keep your IP address private.

Bugs:

The On Screen Keyboard will not correctly input the IP address (at least when using VGA out). You will have to use a Keyboard for now. I contacted Chilly Willy about this.

Be sure to read the readme:
DCDoom readme.txt
(17.22 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
-Impulse

MikeStutzzzz
Uber
Posts: 1037

Re: Doom for DC FAQ

Post#2 » Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:26 pm

i think i remember hearing earlier that you are able to play with all versions of the game if im right so then i can play on both pc and dc?
Meh Stuff http://dreamcast-talk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=18650#p18650
Before you download meh mirrors read this
http://dreamcast-talk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2353&p=22482#p22482

User avatar
Impulse
Admin
Posts: 2045

Re: Doom for DC FAQ

Post#3 » Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:31 pm

According to Chilly Willy's post: "old versions of sdlDoom for the PC". For specifics I would ask at DCEmulation.org.
-Impulse

User avatar
Favrenation
Outrun
Posts: 1137

Re: Doom for DC FAQ

Post#4 » Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:53 pm

I would be willing to play on PC since I don't have bba. I think I found the thing here: http://www.libsdl.org/projects/doom/ I think this would be sweet.
EDIT: it mentions chocolate doom: http://www.chocolate-doom.org/wiki/inde ... olate_Doom
PS2 Online Gaming

User avatar
Bob Dobbs
Sub Genius
Posts: 2538
Contact:

Re: Doom for DC FAQ

Post#5 » Sun Aug 15, 2010 3:35 pm

This is "Doom 1" we're talking about, correct? I did get it to boot but I did not go to the networking section. Reason for the question is that I saw two Doom.wads.
Regards,
Bob Dobbs

User avatar
Impulse
Admin
Posts: 2045

Re: Doom for DC FAQ

Post#6 » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:11 pm

Bob Dobbs wrote:This is "Doom 1" we're talking about, correct? I did get it to boot but I did not go to the networking section. Reason for the question is that I saw two Doom.wads.


Yes, the link I posted is the Doom1.wad. Another user also uploaded an image with Doom 1 and 2 wad's. I haven't tried that one yet.
-Impulse

User avatar
Favrenation
Outrun
Posts: 1137

Re: Doom for DC FAQ

Post#7 » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:35 pm

the one that the other guy posted doom 2 works fine but doom 1 gets an error while trying to load. He said he got Mytho to try and he got it to work. Nonothat got it to work to.
PS2 Online Gaming

MikeStutzzzz
Uber
Posts: 1037

Re: Doom for DC FAQ

Post#8 » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:13 am

First off WTF SHAREWHARE VERSION WHY!!!

ok this is the problem doc and i are having right now
My Burn of Game-Disk juggler 4.6 PRO(i think) burned at 4x on nstc-u dreamcast game booting menu loads up in couple of secconds

Doc's Burn of game- Alchohol 120% Free latest version burned at 8x on pal-e dreamcast booting menu takes a lot longer and he cant choose network mode but single game is playable

Reasons for network mode unchoosable (guessing)
1. Bad Burn (doc says this shouldent be it but it might just be it)
2. Region Problem (maybe the pal-e dreamcast cant choose network mode)
3. Bad Dreamcast (maybe his dreamcast just doesent want to do it)
Meh Stuff http://dreamcast-talk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=18650#p18650
Before you download meh mirrors read this
http://dreamcast-talk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2353&p=22482#p22482

User avatar
Favrenation
Outrun
Posts: 1137

Re: Doom for DC FAQ

Post#9 » Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:03 am

It doesn't let me choose network mode either but that is because I have modem. Maybe only certain region Bbba's work with the game. It is home-brew code. Other than that maybe u should use disc juggler instead of alcohol 120 percent.
PS2 Online Gaming

User avatar
Bob Dobbs
Sub Genius
Posts: 2538
Contact:

Re: Doom for DC FAQ

Post#10 » Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:40 am

Keep posting, I've tried but I do not know what the #@%! this thing is doing. This port is a great achievement, but we have not yet been successful. When we figure it out, I'll put a graphical step-by-step on how to get online with it. In other words, there is something missing from the steps rendered.
Regards,
Bob Dobbs

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Doom for DC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron