Two issues: DC resetting + Saving

Technical help for Dreamcast console, accessories and games only. Ask questions and find answers here. For Online help see the Online Forum

Moderator: pcwzrd13

Delicious Apes
shadow

Two issues: DC resetting + Saving

Post#1 » Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:05 am

Hey fellas. :)

TL;DR: My DC won't stop resetting itself when I turn it on. It's not related to the disc used.

My Dreamcast has recently become unplayable due to the fact it constantly resets endlessly, before the DC logo even has a chance to finish. It does this for every disc, official ones & brand new CD-Rs. Definitely a hardware problem and not related to the disc. Anyone have experience with this problem?..Must be the laser?

I've got another regular (0) DC that died due to power supply issues, would it be doable for me to try to switch the laser unit off that console? I am not very good with fiddly work inside consoles. It never get's past this screen anymore. Also figured I had nothing to lose and tried cleaning the lens with a soft cloth- no dice!

My other query is about saving ROMs when emulating NES, SNES, GnuBoy, et all. Either on VMU or SD card, using CDs or booting ISO files from the SD. I have not figured out how to make my save states work. I will UTFSE, though any help is greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to contributing to this board more and expanding my knowledge here.. Thanks.

CD AGES
Shark Patrol

Re: Two issues: DC resetting + Saving

Post#2 » Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:25 am

With regards to your reset issue...Sounds like a connection issue between the motherboard and PSU. Open your Dreamcast and put some toothpicks in the white plastic...thing (bottom left between the power switch and capacitors).
It's STILL Thinking Dreamcast Channel

The ReviveDC Project blog; reviews for our releases and news

Alec1382
Vagabond

Post#3 » Thu Aug 30, 2012 3:13 am