Pi woes

Online games, how to get online, and anything involving Dreamcast online can be discussed here.

Moderator: pcwzrd13

TigerMacZ
undertow

Pi woes

Post#1 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 2:59 pm

Hi

Been worknig on a dream pi but im a complete noob when it comes to this stuff.

i downlaoded the image and used the tool to write it to an sd card, only when i try to configure the wifi on it it says the wifi adapters arent on and i have to configure the country for them

also dreamcast now isnt detecting the pi even though i've typed the ip address so i havent got a clue what to do.

its a rasp pi 3b +

any suggestions?

Xiden
Developer

Re: Pi woes

Post#2 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 3:22 pm

Just friendly advice, the built in WiFi adapter on Pi is pretty horrible from what I hear. Unless you're using an usb wifi dongle I would highly recommend Ethernet directly to the router if possible to avoid lag.

Here's a step by step tutorial for dreampi wifi https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F1kcZ_A92BY

Alternatively he has a wifi program thats built into the latest dream 1.7 image you can use as well. Instructions found here viewtopic.php?t=9983

TigerMacZ
undertow

Post#3 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 3:27 pm

I tried that and the other dream pi set up video xiden

But it comes back to country is not set, i go into rasp-config cant find adapter, dont know if its connecting via my ethernet cause i go to dreamcast online and it says it cant detect it even though i used the ip address the pi gave me.

when i come to the raspberry pi itself im a complete newcomer.
Attachments
IMG_20190807_200118077.jpg

Xiden
Developer

Post#4 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 5:27 pm

TigerMacZ wrote:I tried that and the other dream pi set up video xiden

But it comes back to country is not set, i go into rasp-config cant find adapter, dont know if its connecting via my ethernet cause i go to dreamcast online and it says it cant detect it even though i used the ip address the pi gave me.