I think DreamPi's Q3 dns needs to be updated.

Online games, how to get online, and anything involving Dreamcast online can be discussed here.
User avatar
dcnigma
lithium
Posts: 38
Contact:

I think DreamPi's Q3 dns needs to be updated.

Post#1 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:01 pm

Hey Guys and Girls

Like the Tile or subject says I think DreamPi needs A update aka 46.101.91.123 needs a dns update. :?:

When i ping from other console on my Dreampi "ping master.quake3arena.com" i get:

Jun 17 21:51:05 dreampi dnsmasq[853]: query[A] master.quake3arena.com from 127.0.0.1
Jun 17 21:51:05 dreampi dnsmasq[853]: forwarded master.quake3arena.com to 46.101.91.123
Jun 17 21:51:05 dreampi dnsmasq[853]: query[AAAA] master.quake3arena.com from 127.0.0.1
Jun 17 21:51:05 dreampi dnsmasq[853]: forwarded master.quake3arena.com to 46.101.91.123
Jun 17 21:51:05 dreampi dnsmasq[853]: reply master.quake3arena.com is 100.10.72.182
Jun 17 21:51:05 dreampi dnsmasq[853]: query[PTR] 182.72.10.100.in-addr.arpa from 127.0.0.1
Jun 17 21:51:05 dreampi dnsmasq[853]: forwarded 182.72.10.100.in-addr.arpa to 46.101.91.123
Jun 17 21:51:05 dreampi dnsmasq[853]: reply 100.10.72.182 is pool-100-10-72-182.prvdri.fios.verizon.net
In my log.
Same if I try connecting on my dreamcast using dreampi and Quake. Only result there is no result from master list.

So 46.101.91.123 tells my pi that its on 100.10.72.182 but that server is down.
Image
Think the dns 46.101.91.123 needs to be update..
Found a old post that this happens sometime and kazade need to update it.
Another suggestion in the forum was that I re-flash my SD...

But got a feeling this time it won’t help. :o

Because ping gives me that feeling/info and when I change my dns in my mac to the same server dreampi uses.
And every other game... It gives me the same out come:
Image
Test on my mac in terminal:
"dcnigma:~ dcnigma$ ping master.quake3arena.com"
PING master.quake3arena.com (100.10.72.182): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 100.10.72.182: icmp_seq=0 ttl=50 time=137.043 ms
64 bytes from 100.10.72.182: icmp_seq=1 ttl=50 time=146.552 ms
64 bytes from 100.10.72.182: icmp_seq=2 ttl=50 time=176.301 ms
64 bytes from 100.10.72.182: icmp_seq=3 ttl=50 time=142.047 ms
64 bytes from 100.10.72.182: icmp_seq=4 ttl=50 time=137.224 ms

No special Dns setup ISP in my mac :
dcnigma:~ dcnigma$ ping master.quake3arena.com
PING master.quake3arena.com (192.246.40.56): 56 data bytes
Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1

So i guess Quake is out of order for now.
Asked in the Discord but no reply if someone played quake last 2 days because I noticed this Sunday.
been tracking http://dreamcast.online/now/ last 2 days a bit and can''t say that I have seen players
play Quake 3 that is why i post my post :lol: :lol: :lol:

don't want to re-flash my SD its a pain to get it out my case. :D

And think I am right about the DNS. but not sure.

Greets Dcnigma
Check out my website http://dcnigma.eu5.org just a personal blog/website.
To keep track of my projects, Arcade Cabinets, Dreamcast mods, Raspberry Pi mods, Software, Design,
Homebrew Games, Rom Hacks, 3D prints, Strange things and many more :D :D :D

User avatar
pcwzrd13
Seen Any Sailors?
Posts: 5692
Contact:

Re: I think DreamPi's Q3 dns needs to be updated.

Post#2 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:08 pm

Yes, Kazade knows about this. He just hasn't had a chance to update it yet. You can still connect to servers manually if you're using the NTSC version of Quake. The PAL version doesn't have that option though.
PSO Characters:
Teal'c - lvl 119 HUcast - GC# 11666
Alto - lvl 39 FOnewm - GC# 12964

YouTube Channel : Dreamcast Live

User avatar
dcnigma
lithium
Posts: 38
Contact:

Re: I think DreamPi's Q3 dns needs to be updated.

Post#3 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:26 pm

pcwzrd13 wrote:Yes, Kazade knows about this. He just hasn't had a chance to update it yet. You can still connect to servers manually if you're using the NTSC version of Quake. The PAL version doesn't have that option though.


Thx pcwzrd13 good to know.
Just the right answer I wanted to hear, hope Kazade get it fixed before Friday. LoL
Been trying to fix it in dreampi my self.
I guess I could
nano /etc/dnsmasq.conf
found this line:

Code: Select all

# Example of routing PTR queries to nameservers: this will send all
# address->name queries for 192.168.3/24 to nameserver 10.1.2.3
#server=/3.168.192.in-addr.arpa/10.1.2.3
#fix ip Quake 3 server if 182.72.10.100 is down
server=/182.72.10.100.10.in-addr.arpa,/100.10.49.113
But when i tested it I made a typo, I did’t reverse the ip. so I need to test this again.
And maybe I am doing it wrong using the wrong command, and need do It like this:

Code: Select all

#address=/master.quake3arena.com/100.10.49.113
#ptr-record=133.49.10.100.in-addr.arpa,master.quake3arena.com

Found some Starlancer experimental ptr-record's that did it like that.
:mrgreen:
But for now I gonna leave it like it is and wait patiently until Kazade updates the dns.
Check out my website http://dcnigma.eu5.org just a personal blog/website.
To keep track of my projects, Arcade Cabinets, Dreamcast mods, Raspberry Pi mods, Software, Design,
Homebrew Games, Rom Hacks, 3D prints, Strange things and many more :D :D :D

User avatar
Mechanic
MicroMidget
Posts: 437

Re: I think DreamPi's Q3 dns needs to be updated.

Post#4 » Mon Jun 17, 2019 9:29 pm

You can do a temporary fix for now until Kazaad corrects this by just going to the q3a connection info screen and typing the dctalk ip into the dns. 100.10.49.113

Soon as kazad fixes the pi dns return your q3 dns back to 0.0.0.0

You can always get the correct dctalk ip by pinging dc.dreamcast-talk.com which is the dreamcast master server.
Dont ping quake3arena.com . That is the pc q3 default master server
Italian Stallion

User avatar
dcnigma
lithium
Posts: 38
Contact:

Re: I think DreamPi's Q3 dns needs to be updated.

Post#5 » Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:56 pm

Mechanic wrote:You can do a temporary fix for now until Kazaad corrects this by just going to the q3a connection info screen and typing the dctalk ip into the dns. 100.10.49.113

Soon as kazad fixes the pi dns return your q3 dns back to 0.0.0.0

You can always get the correct dctalk ip by pinging dc.dreamcast-talk.com which is the dreamcast master server.
Dont ping quake3arena.com . That is the pc q3 default master server


I know all those things but by ping master.quake3arena.com it will force the look up.
And if I do that it gives me a result and the ip that it gave was wrong.
So don't know why you say don't ping the master list because this was the perfect method to check if it was working correct or not.
-ping master.quake3arena.com on dreampi wrong ip.
-ping master.quake3arena.com on mac using the dns of dreampi wrong ip.
-ping master.quake3arena.com on mac using the normal dns no ip
Conclusion DNS is not relaying the correct ip.

But I did changed some stuff on my pi added xlink kai to it. Update and upgraded also.
And of course I could not connect to the server after I did those things.

Did't feel like re-flashing my SD card just because Q3 was the only game that did't work I thought it most be some thing else.
But It was not certain so did some checks and everything pointed to the DNS that dreampi uses is not update to the new server.
Could remember seeing server 2 up last week so this made suspicious about the resolving of the master list.

I am glad that pcwzrd13 confirmed my findings I am still new to the dreampi.
Before Dreampi, I used my BroadBand Adapter to connect to the internet.
But in the end Dreampi is a much better solution to get on line.
The plug and plug aspect is very appealing.
And i can say i have a seXy DreamPI modem and pi in the case.
Image

Cheers!
Check out my website http://dcnigma.eu5.org just a personal blog/website.
To keep track of my projects, Arcade Cabinets, Dreamcast mods, Raspberry Pi mods, Software, Design,
Homebrew Games, Rom Hacks, 3D prints, Strange things and many more :D :D :D

User avatar
Mechanic
MicroMidget
Posts: 437

Re: I think DreamPi's Q3 dns needs to be updated.

Post#6 » Tue Jun 18, 2019 8:00 pm

Maybe we are talking about 2 different things here. I thaught you were tring to ping the dc talk quake 3 master server



Pinging dc.dreamcast-talk.com [100.10.49.113] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 100.10.49.113: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=50
Reply from 100.10.49.113: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=50
Reply from 100.10.49.113: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=50
Italian Stallion

User avatar
pcwzrd13
Seen Any Sailors?
Posts: 5692
Contact:

Re: I think DreamPi's Q3 dns needs to be updated.

Post#7 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 4:39 pm

The DNS has been updated.
PSO Characters:
Teal'c - lvl 119 HUcast - GC# 11666
Alto - lvl 39 FOnewm - GC# 12964

YouTube Channel : Dreamcast Live

User avatar
dcnigma
lithium
Posts: 38
Contact:

Re: I think DreamPi's Q3 dns needs to be updated.

Post#8 » Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:30 pm

I have seen that ;-) but THX Again.
Just written a tutorial for Pal users and Quake 3 is my goto test game...
http://dcnigma.eu5.org/?p=1142
I think I have found the best method. Works every time.
Check it out if you like!

Cheers!
Check out my website http://dcnigma.eu5.org just a personal blog/website.
To keep track of my projects, Arcade Cabinets, Dreamcast mods, Raspberry Pi mods, Software, Design,
Homebrew Games, Rom Hacks, 3D prints, Strange things and many more :D :D :D

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Online”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users