DreamPi, PSO, disconnection and lost save file

Online games, how to get online, and anything involving Dreamcast online can be discussed here.

Moderator: pcwzrd13

alix
shadow

DreamPi, PSO, disconnection and lost save file

Post#1 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 5:25 am

Dear all,

I am completely new to the world of PSO (and to this forum). I am based in the UK and I need your help :)

I started playing the game offline a week ago and built up a character to level 10.

Yesterday I received the last bit of hardware I needed to connect my Dreamcast to the internet via DreamPi, and so tried to play online.

It started well, I connected first time and accessed the lobby... there wasn't many people there, but I was just happy taking a tour :) I got disconnected a couple of times but didn't think much of it. The screen froze once as well (as in the game was still running, but I couldn't see my character and none of the buttons on the controller did anything), but again I got disconnected "cleanly", i.e. after a while it saved and took me back to the main menu.

But then I realised my character had been corrupted :( the name is blank, it looks completely different (like a fat Kim Jong Un in a red outfit) some of the attributes have been lost, other have been maxed (I am level 200!). Some of my objects have been lost etc... i can still load the file and play, but really I want to start again.

So my questions:
- Why am I getting disconnected? what are the common pitfalls? I have included my exact config below.
- Has anyone ever experienced this kind of save file loss? It is quite catastrophic really, imagine it happening after months of levelling up. Any way to avoid this? Can I back the file up?
- Someone on Facebook has told be that using the "IVES PSOv2" build of the game might help... what do you think?

My set-up:
- Pal Dreamcast
- Pal copy of PSO ver. 2
- I use the Sylverant PSO Patcher 2.0 to boot, then swap for the PSO disk.