Quake 3 Arena config

Online games, how to get online, and anything involving Dreamcast online can be discussed here.
User avatar
Bob Dobbs
Sub Genius
Posts: 3440
Contact:

Re: Quake 3 Arena config

Post#11 » Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:40 pm

jervisx wrote:I'm using my BBA. I was able to find the server by finally just doing an address search via Info. I can't get the server listing to pop up by default for whatever reason.


I use:
IP: 192.168.0.97
SubNet: 255.255.255.0
DNS1: 46.101.91.123
DNS2: 8.8.8.8

I get master list every time.
Regards,
Bob Dobbs

jervisx
shadow
Posts: 11

Re: Quake 3 Arena config

Post#12 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:41 am

Can't you just use 0.0.0.0 to auto config the IP? I would assume the same for DNS2?

User avatar
Mechanic
GD-ROM
Posts: 471

Re: Quake 3 Arena config

Post#13 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:06 am

jervisx wrote:The request keeps timing out when I ping the IP addy. Any thoughts?


Yes the request will timeout that's normal . here is the dns for bba users to see the quake 3 master list 96.233.129.232


Here is what shows when I ping dc.dreamcast-talk.com .
Pinging dc.dreamcast-talk.com [96.233.129.232] with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.

Use that ip as the dns. Dctalk dns does change from time to time so if master list don't show just ping dc.dreamcast-talk.com for updated dns

for example my BBA network setup (not for pi use)
ip ---- 10.0.0.67
subnet mask--- 0.0.0.0
gateway----- 10.0.0.1
primary dns---- 96.233.129.232
secondary dns--0.0.0.0

Your ip and your gateway will be different from mine. Check your router for the gateway. Your ip is the same as the gateway except for the last digit. In my case I used 10.0.0.67. Just don't use 98 as the last digits if you also connect with pi.
Italian Stallion

User avatar
pcwzrd13
Seen Any Sailors?
Posts: 5784
Contact:

Re: Quake 3 Arena config

Post#14 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:58 am

The primary DNS to use for a BBA would be 46.101.91.123 (You can use anything for the secondary DNS. I use 8.8.8.8). You can use Dreamcast-Talk's IP as Mechanic mentioned above but then you won't be able to connect with other games (POD, Toy Racer, etc.). You cannot use 0.0.0.0 with the BBA. That's only if you're using DreamPi as DreamPi automatically handles the DNS server.
PSO Characters:
Teal'c - lvl 119 HUcast - GC# 11666
Alto - lvl 39 FOnewm - GC# 12964

YouTube Channel : Dreamcast Live

User avatar
Bob Dobbs
Sub Genius
Posts: 3440
Contact:

Re: Quake 3 Arena config

Post#15 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:58 pm

pcwzrd13 wrote:The primary DNS to use for a BBA would be 46.101.91.123 (You can use anything for the secondary DNS. I use 8.8.8.8). You can use Dreamcast-Talk's IP as Mechanic mentioned above but then you won't be able to connect with other games (POD, Toy Racer, etc.). You cannot use 0.0.0.0 with the BBA. That's only if you're using DreamPi as DreamPi automatically handles the DNS server.


PCwzrd13 and I are set up the same and I do use a BBA and get the master server list every time. Please note that l use the Q3 LAN 2 option with that setup, yes there are TWO options. I have never tried it with my DreamPi but maybe it is time to do so for test purposes. I have with my Netopia setup successfully.
Regards,
Bob Dobbs

jervisx
shadow
Posts: 11

Re: Quake 3 Arena config

Post#16 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:21 pm

Pcwzrd13 - You have solved my issue! Thanks for all the responses guys. I haven't used a BBA before so this was new to me lol. I've got all my games working now except for POD, which I haven't tried to connect yet.

User avatar
Mechanic
GD-ROM
Posts: 471

Re: Quake 3 Arena config

Post#17 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:02 pm

Bob Dobbs wrote:
pcwzrd13 wrote:The primary DNS to use for a BBA would be 46.101.91.123 (You can use anything for the secondary DNS. I use 8.8.8.8). You can use Dreamcast-Talk's IP as Mechanic mentioned above but then you won't be able to connect with other games (POD, Toy Racer, etc.). You cannot use 0.0.0.0 with the BBA. That's only if you're using DreamPi as DreamPi automatically handles the DNS server.




Interesting ? so why does it say:: Server hostname: dc.dreamcast-talk.com Current IP: 173.69.12.49 (always ping dc.dreamcast-talk.com for current)
Where u getin 46.101.91.123?.... I ping dc.dreamcast-talk.com and get 96.233.129.232 seems to work
Italian Stallion

User avatar
pcwzrd13
Seen Any Sailors?
Posts: 5784
Contact:

Re: Quake 3 Arena config

Post#18 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:27 pm

Mechanic wrote:Interesting ? so why does it say:: Server hostname: dc.dreamcast-talk.com Current IP: 173.69.12.49 (always ping dc.dreamcast-talk.com for current)
Where u getin 46.101.91.123?


46.101.91.123 is Kazade's DNS server for DreamPi. It's really the universal DNS for everything as it's always kept up to date.
PSO Characters:
Teal'c - lvl 119 HUcast - GC# 11666
Alto - lvl 39 FOnewm - GC# 12964

YouTube Channel : Dreamcast Live

User avatar
Mechanic
GD-ROM
Posts: 471

Re: Quake 3 Arena config

Post#19 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:34 pm

Am i awesome? Cause the config i use works fine. Maybe i got special powers
Last edited by Mechanic on Sun Sep 16, 2018 4:51 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Italian Stallion

User avatar
HuntrRose
Vagabond
Posts: 710

Re: Quake 3 Arena config

Post#20 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:44 pm

yes

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Online”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users