Page 1 of 1

Please help me get online

Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 6:23 pm
by Stewcumber
hi

i am trying to get online in the UK but with no success. Hopefully i just read the instructions wrong!

I have my PAL DC with Quake 3 switched on, in the web browser. The DC is connected to one of PC Wizard's PAL line voltage things using the longer phone cable. The shorter cable goes into the Dell modem RD02-D400, on which there are two green lights. The usb end of this modem plugs into my Pi1, as does the voltage inducer. The Pi is running DreamPi and is connected via ethernet cable to my router.

when i open the web browser in Quake 3 it says no telephone number has been set. I change the "external number" to 555 (this is meaningless in the UK, although i understand this isnt a real number in the US either and it is just used in films and stuff!) and it still says cant connect. when i try to open a connection the modem lights dont flicker at all i assume cos it doesnt have a number to try to dial...

what am i missing?

Re: Please help me get online

Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 8:10 pm
by Xiden
pcwiz to the rescue :D

Re: Please help me get online

Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 8:14 pm
by pcwzrd13
You won't be able to use the PAL version of Quake to configure the Dreamcast connection settings. You'll need to use either Dreamkey 3.0, XDP Browser, PlanetWeb, or a US copy of Quake. Once you have one of those, configure it as shown in the video below.


Re: Please help me get online

Posted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:18 am
by Stewcumber
That's a shame! When I turned on the Quake web browser I thought it looked identical to the web browsers I other games. Luckily I have s Dreamkey 3 on the way already.

Thanks for the help.

Re: Please help me get online

Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 4:18 pm
by Stewcumber
My sealed Dreamkey 3 arrived and thanks to your help I am now surfing the information superhighway! I googled "what late 90s websites are still online" (from the Dreamcast) and something called "Ask Dr. Internet" came up... this is it :/

Image

Now that I know it works I will move it all upstairs to the Mancave and get the it working over wifi. Then I might try some PSO(v1), never played it at all...

Re: Please help me get online

Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 4:22 pm
by Xiden
Stewcumber wrote:My sealed Dreamkey 3 arrived and thanks to your help I am now surfing the information superhighway! I googled "what late 90s websites are still online" (from the Dreamcast) and something called "Ask Dr. Internet" came up... this is it :/

Image

Now that I know it works I will move it all upstairs to the Mancave and get the it working over wifi. Then I might try some PSO(v1), never played it at all...


dreampipe.net <-- DC optimized site :)

Re: Please help me get online

Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 6:19 pm
by Stewcumber
EDIT - Got it fixed and working over Wifi now, I was dumb and didn't follow the instructions properly!

I'm now having issues getting my Pi3 online. I've followed PC Wizards instructions in the "setting up your wifi" video (thank you!), double and triple checked what I've put in but it won't connect to my router.

When I boot it up I get these fails:

Image

Any idea what would cause the "interfaces" options to fail

When I run ifconfig I get this:

Image