Connection issues with newly setup dreampi

Online games, how to get online, and anything involving Dreamcast online can be discussed here.
helloimmatt26
shadow
Posts: 10

Connection issues with newly setup dreampi

Post#1 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 1:36 am

Alright everyone!

I have tried for 3 weeks to piece everything together. Been really patient but really starting to question myself on this. I cannot get online at all

I have attached images of my setup for clarity

Pi2 with Wifi Dongle (used youtube video to set it up)
Dell NW147
Teltone TLS-3

Really not sure what else i can do, i set everything up as follows

111-1111
dream
dreamcast
46.101.91.123
8.8.8.8

Really not sure what else to do guys. Just wanna play online so bad! Been waiting 3 weeks!
Attachments
Issues4.jpg
Issues3.jpg
Issues2.jpg
Issues1.jpg

User avatar
pcwzrd13
Seen Any Sailors?
Posts: 5201
Contact:

Re: Connection issues with newly setup dreampi

Post#2 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:14 am

I know what the issue is. The Teltone phone line sims require you to dial a specific phone number. To dial Line 1 it's 101 and to dial Line 2 it's 102. You need to call the line the Pi is plugged into.

One thing I should point out is that you won't be able to play Alien Front Online with a Teltone sim as AFO requires you to dial a standard length phone number such as 111-1111. The game won't even attempt to connect with a three-digit phone number. If you ever want to play AFO, you'll need to either grab a Viking DLE-200B or buy a line voltage inducer (I sell them on Dreamcast Live).
Last edited by pcwzrd13 on Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
PSO Characters:
Teal'c - lvl 119 HUcast - GC# 11666
Alto - lvl 39 FOnewm - GC# 12964

YouTube Channel : Dreamcast Live

helloimmatt26
shadow
Posts: 10

Re: Connection issues with newly setup dreampi

Post#3 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:19 am

I am so happy right now! THANK YOU!

User avatar
Xerxes3rd
fire
Posts: 78

Re: Connection issues with newly setup dreampi

Post#4 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:08 am

Will AFO allow you to insert pauses in the phone number? It's often a comma character that indicates a 2-second pause. You could try using 101,1111 as the phone number and see what happens. I can't remember what the inter-digit timeout is on the Pi, so that might need to be increased as well.

helloimmatt26
shadow
Posts: 10

Re: Connection issues with newly setup dreampi

Post#5 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:02 pm

I just tried this. Still no luck :(

User avatar
TacT
Uber
Posts: 1027

Re: Connection issues with newly setup dreampi

Post#6 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:09 pm

You've included very few details here lol but i'll throw my 2 cents in.

The way the dreampi works it picks up the line First and listens for tones to dial, and thats backwards when using line simulators, especially one that requires specific numbers dialed to ring the other line.
So lets keep it simple just say it probably won't work that way with that line simulator

I recommend either sending me your modem to install a usb powered lvi for only 10$ or get an lvi cable from pcwzrd. or make your own, just not use the simulator =)
Image
Image


it's still thinking.

helloimmatt26
shadow
Posts: 10

Re: Connection issues with newly setup dreampi

Post#7 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:51 pm

what other details would you need?

User avatar
Xiden
Outrun
Posts: 1122

Re: Connection issues with newly setup dreampi

Post#8 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 11:16 pm

Yeah i highly reommend ditching your phone line sim and just have tact install the lvi in your modem. So much cleaner and easier

helloimmatt26
shadow
Posts: 10

Re: Connection issues with newly setup dreampi

Post#9 » Sun Jan 15, 2017 9:53 am

well friends i am going to suck it up and get TacT to install the usb lvi

seems much easier than messing with the simulator over and over again

if you know anyone that wants a phone line simulator let me know!

User avatar
Rolly
shadow
Posts: 11
Contact:

Re: Connection issues with newly setup dreampi

Post#10 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 11:41 am

Hello everyone!
I got problem with online connection. I have all stuff and Pal Modem. Votage inducer with usb and version with 2 battery.
Tested both of them but DreamPi still not work.
Modem USB possiby work fine. Settings looks also ok. Planet Web dialing modem over and over... :|
I have no idea where is the problem. Maybe R11 cables (one of them have 3 lines, secondary only 2)?
On bottom some of shots.

Image Image Image Image

Any suggestions?
Image

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Online”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]