Dreamcast overclocking

Discuss Dreamcast related events and other Dreamcast websites here.

Moderator: pcwzrd13

Mechanic
Vagabond

Dreamcast overclocking

Post#1 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:51 am

Yo! So how about it? Has anybody tried overclocking the dreamcast? Is it worth the trouble? I'm curiuos about it since i do have my original DC laying around with a dead GDrom drive . Figured i would try the overclocking mod and install a gdmu. If i blow it up who cares lol.
Italian Stallion

Tarnish
Prince of Persia

Re: Dreamcast overclocking

Post#2 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:28 am

" If i blow it up who cares lol."

If you care so little about it, I would suggest selling it to someone who wants it instead of just ruining it because you're bored.

Anonymouse
Outtrigger

Post#3 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:29 am

I have overclocked a Dreamcast and set of VMUs in the past. I am an electrical engineer so the mod itself wasn't too overwhelming but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone that is not a ninja with a soldering iron. The mod needs to be extremely neat in order to get stable results.

In the end that Dreamcast ended up getting sold as I was happier with the simplicity of a stock cpu Dreamcast.

I would imagine potential issues with this mod when using a GD-EMU. Look into this first.
Dreamcast: Blue Swirl, 60hz, White LED, Removable battery holder, Internal SD card reader, BBA, DreamPi, RGB Scart

Anonymouse
Outtrigger

Post#4 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:31 am

Mechanic wrote:Yo! So how about it? Has anybody tried overclocking the dreamcast? Is it worth the trouble? I'm curiuos about it since i do have my original DC laying around with a dead GDrom drive . Figured i would try the overclocking mod and install a gdmu. If i blow it up who cares lol.

I have a Dreamcast with a fucked motherboard. I keep it around as a spare. It is always handy to have spare parts at hand
Dreamcast: Blue Swirl, 60hz, White LED, Removable battery holder, Internal SD card reader, BBA, DreamPi, RGB Scart

Mechanic