Ultrapro's new PC!!

Talk about PC and Mac games, etc. here.
User avatar
DCUltrapro
Shark Patrol
Posts: 2178
Contact:

Ultrapro's new PC!!

Post#1 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 7:49 am

hey guys... so I FINALLY upgraded my Desktop to something more suitable. I've been struggling to do my youtube channel videos on my laptop and desktop and thought I'd finally cave after 7 years and buy a new one. These are the specs of the machine I got and here's a link to it too

Case : Galaxy 3 Gamers Style Midi Tower Case
Motherboard : Gigabyte H61M Motherboard Technology
CPU : Intel Quad Core I5 2380P 3.1Ghz CPU
Hard Drive : 1tb Sata Hard Drive
Memory : 8gb DDR3 1333 Memory
Graphics Card : ATI Radeon 6450 1gb DDR3 with HDMI Hyper Memory Upto 2gb
Optical Drive : 24x Dual Layer Sata DVD Writer

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Galaxy-3-Inte ... 593wt_1185

be interested to hear what you guys think, I mean for the price I'm not expecting to play Crysis on ultra high or anything but it arrived yesterday and I spent the night setting it up and I'm now very happy with it, though I may spend £100 on a better spec graphics card as the one I've got is holding my WEI down at a pultry 3.6!! the 3d graphics score is at 5.6 but the windows aero is at 3.6 which sucks but hey, at least now I have a custom rig with awesome motherboard and potential to upgrade it to a ridiculous level!

heres a pic of the new machine all setup along with my new printer and relatively new monitor (bought it last year)

Image

Image

so yeah you can all expect new videos from me very soon! Hopefully this upgraded machine will mean better performance when making my videos. I did a test run last night and so far, running the capture software and chrome and a few other things came to a total of about 29% processing power, which compared to 98% with just Arcsoft (capture software) thats a bloody miracle lol.

so watch closely on my channel for more vids soon ;)
Guild Card: Odin #13044
Ultrapro; Oldskooling since 1990. Long Live DREAMCAST!!
Image
Check out my youtube channel!http://www.youtube.com/user/Antonyv1982?feature=mhee

User avatar
game_player_s
Graffiti Grind
Posts: 319
Contact:

Re: Ultrapro's new PC!!

Post#2 » Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:54 pm

Nice system! Computer by day, light by night!

On the video card front. If Hyper Memory is activated, de-activating it will improve the overall system score as the GPU will no longer be permitted to tax the system's RAM everytime it feels inclined to do so.
Now There are no Limits -- SEGA
http://www.tweeg.psoarchive.com/

User avatar
DCUltrapro
Shark Patrol
Posts: 2178
Contact:

Re: Ultrapro's new PC!!

Post#3 » Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:20 am

hmm.. not sure I think the seller said it would be active constant, I'll check, any ideas how to deactivate? Would it effect the performance of the games? they seem to be running REALLY well compared to my old computer and compared to before I switched it to run 4 processors rather than just 1!!

oh and ig you guys are interested heres a quick screen test of me playing Section 8: Prejudice, enjoy!

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1sy63QZbYak[/youtube]
Guild Card: Odin #13044
Ultrapro; Oldskooling since 1990. Long Live DREAMCAST!!
Image
Check out my youtube channel!http://www.youtube.com/user/Antonyv1982?feature=mhee

User avatar
game_player_s
Graffiti Grind
Posts: 319
Contact:

Re: Ultrapro's new PC!!

Post#4 » Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:17 pm

Is possible that it may not be deactivateable. Has been a few chipset generations since I last had to mess around with a hyper memory capable card. If everything is working smoothly as may as well leave it be.
Now There are no Limits -- SEGA
http://www.tweeg.psoarchive.com/

User avatar
DCUltrapro
Shark Patrol
Posts: 2178
Contact:

Re: Ultrapro's new PC!!

Post#5 » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:04 am

yeah its going fine right now, converting my captured game files and editing them is about 90% faster than it was with my old computer and I can run other things while its doing it too and games are looking excellent on it. I'm going to try out Witcher 2 on the PC tonight and see how that goes... can't wait!!

soo.... can anyone tell me what they think about this? I have a 1gb dedicated graphics card that can do hyper memory, I have an i5 with 8gb ram etc and my windows experience index is at 3.6 which it is taking from the "Graphics" option. my "3d graphics" option is at 5.6 and my harddrive is at 5.4 so it can't be either of those two, it is literally just the "Desktop Performance for windows Aero" .... so my question is, how does an i7 laptop with 8gb ram and a 2.8ghz processor (mine is 3.1ghz quad core i5) with NO standalone graphics wind up with a rating of 5.8? what in the name of zeus' a-hole is going on?
Guild Card: Odin #13044
Ultrapro; Oldskooling since 1990. Long Live DREAMCAST!!
Image
Check out my youtube channel!http://www.youtube.com/user/Antonyv1982?feature=mhee

User avatar
nnorton44
Doom
Posts: 192

Re: Ultrapro's new PC!!

Post#6 » Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:00 am

DCUltrapro wrote:soo.... can anyone tell me what they think about this? I have a 1gb dedicated graphics card that can do hyper memory, I have an i5 with 8gb ram etc and my windows experience index is at 3.6 which it is taking from the "Graphics" option. my "3d graphics" option is at 5.6 and my harddrive is at 5.4 so it can't be either of those two, it is literally just the "Desktop Performance for windows Aero" .... so my question is, how does an i7 laptop with 8gb ram and a 2.8ghz processor (mine is 3.1ghz quad core i5) with NO standalone graphics wind up with a rating of 5.8? what in the name of zeus' a-hole is going on?

The 6450 is just really really slow. That's why your score is so low. Even with no standalone graphics the 6450 is probably slower.

The card is really designed for HTPC to play HD content.

EDIT: Do you have Catalyst Control Center installed? If not install it then set the settings to "High Performance".
Last edited by nnorton44 on Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DCUltrapro
Shark Patrol
Posts: 2178
Contact:

Re: Ultrapro's new PC!!

Post#7 » Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:40 am

ok fair enough, so what about a 6870? A friend mentioned that... or a GTX550 TI, would either of those give me a more accurate WEI? also what's the thing where you buy 2 of the exact same card... would it be worth my while doing that? could my motherboard support that do you think?
Guild Card: Odin #13044
Ultrapro; Oldskooling since 1990. Long Live DREAMCAST!!
Image
Check out my youtube channel!http://www.youtube.com/user/Antonyv1982?feature=mhee

User avatar
nnorton44
Doom
Posts: 192

Re: Ultrapro's new PC!!

Post#8 » Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:45 am

DCUltrapro wrote:ok fair enough, so what about a 6870? A friend mentioned that... or a GTX550 TI, would either of those give me a more accurate WEI?

I wouldn't get a 550 Ti, the price/performance ratio isn't great. The 6870 is definately a much better card then a 550Ti and you will get much better performance. It offers great 1080P performance, does not use much energy, and can be had for a good price. Thats my recommendation.

The two card thing you refer to is SLI (Nvidia) or Crossfire (AMD). If you have the exact model of your motherboard I could look it up. Should be like Gigabyte H61M-???. Unless your doing hardcore gaming it is not necessary, but is nice for down the road and you want more performance, just add another card.

Here is some great info and graphics from Toms Hardware:

Best Graphics Cards For The Money: May 2012
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming-graphics-card-review,3107.html

User avatar
DCUltrapro
Shark Patrol
Posts: 2178
Contact:

Re: Ultrapro's new PC!!

Post#9 » Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:35 pm

well this is literally all they mentioned, same as the info I posted in my original post, I know no more than this:

Motherboard : Gigabyte H61M Motherboard Technology

oh hang on, I have a picture of the motherboard packaging

Image

any help to ya?

but yeah like you say, I'm not all that bothered, I'll look into getting one of the ones you mention, if I can find one reasonable I might treat myself lol.

Just about to try out the witcher 2, will let you know how that goes

is this the right one for a 6870?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/XFX-ATI-RADEO ... 764wt_1026
Guild Card: Odin #13044
Ultrapro; Oldskooling since 1990. Long Live DREAMCAST!!
Image
Check out my youtube channel!http://www.youtube.com/user/Antonyv1982?feature=mhee

User avatar
nnorton44
Doom
Posts: 192

Re: Ultrapro's new PC!!

Post#10 » Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:09 pm

Yes that is the correct 6870.

Looks like your board does not have SLI/Crossfire. No biggie. Still a nice board, supports Ivy Bridge processors and PCI-E 3.0. Your CPU is more then sufficient for gaming too, the Sandy Bridge processors are great.

As far as making due now, probably start off at a lower resolution like 1280x720 with medium settings and then move up/down depending on performance.

Overall nice system, "future-proof" too (if there is a thing) lol.

Have you benchmarked yet?
http://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/
Check out the latest 3DMark and PCMark.

Return to “PC/Mac”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users