ForumsNewsOnline GamesOnline InfoGame SchedulingGuides Our ServersContactLinks


It is currently Fri Apr 25, 2014 12:58 am


Bookmark and Share

Forum rules


Before posting here please check the other forums in the Dreamcast section to see if your topic would fit better in those categories. Example: A new game/homebrew release would go in the New Releases/Homebrew/Emulation section: viewforum.php?f=5 or if you're having an issue with getting your Dreamcast to work or a game to boot it would go in the Support section: viewforum.php?f=42




Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
How to connect dreamcast?
Author Message
noob

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:50 am
Posts: 4
Post How to connect dreamcast?
Hay guys my frist post here and it's late so sorry ahead of time for spelling errors or funny sentance stuctor....lol

K I have DSL and I was wondering if I had to connect the dreamcast to the pc for internet or can I use a phone jack?

I'm also wondering how to earse the internal memory on the dreamcast. I bought a used one after mine acted really funny and it has all the pervious owners information on it (like all his conntection information).

I really need to learn more about how to play PSO (ver2.0 US) through computer conection if I have to use my computer for the connection. Thanks for everone's time.

Skaredmask


Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:09 am
Profile
Quantic Dream
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:38 am
Posts: 1670
Location: michigan
Post Re: How to connect dreamcast?
you have DSL so you might get free dial up. call your DSL provider and ask if you get dial up as part of your internet package. if you do you can use it to connect your dreamcast. as for erasing hte internal memory? you can erase it with planet web 1.0. i forget the exact buttons to press but someone else might remember. if not ill see if i can figure it out again.

skaredmask wrote:
I really need to learn more about how to play PSO (ver2.0 US) through computer conection if I have to use my computer for the connection. Thanks for everone's time
the US version 2 is no longer online. you can how ever use the US v1 and if you want to play v2 you can use the PAL version.


Tue Mar 10, 2009 3:16 am
Profile YIM
noob

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:50 am
Posts: 4
Post Re: How to connect dreamcast?
Hay again I called my ISP and they said I could not use dial-up because my DSL is useing my phone number. So I have to use my computer I found a example on how to do this at

http://www.maturion.de/dreamcast/mterlouw/

I'm goning to try it out but if you have any input please post and thanks again.


Skaredmask


Tue Mar 10, 2009 4:18 pm
Profile
dirty sailor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:23 pm
Posts: 183
Post Re: How to connect dreamcast?
skaredmask wrote:
Hay again I called my ISP and they said I could not use dial-up because my DSL is useing my phone number. So I have to use my computer I found a example on how to do this at

http://www.maturion.de/dreamcast/mterlouw/

I'm goning to try it out but if you have any input please post and thanks again.


Skaredmask



Not many people have much success with that

_________________
Pso- max (schthack)
4x4- max4242
Quake 3 - maxkill42
Starlancer - maxkill

PM any time you want to play!


Tue Mar 10, 2009 7:06 pm
Profile
Quantic Dream
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:38 am
Posts: 1670
Location: michigan
Post Re: How to connect dreamcast?
skaredmask wrote:
Hay again I called my ISP and they said I could not use dial-up because my DSL is useing my phone number.
this is crazy. i never seen a DSL line that prevents phone use. when i had DSL i could make phone calls while my computer was connected to the internet, hence being able to use dial up and DSL internet at the same time. what service do you have? and there is no reason you couldn't use dial up! even if it means not being able to use the DSL line at the same time.

i have a PC-DC server set up right now. if you can't use dial up then it is your best bet. its not easy to set up and the easiest OS to use it windows 98.


Tue Mar 10, 2009 7:33 pm
Profile YIM
Post Re: How to connect dreamcast?
I had the same problem, making a call using the telephone would disconnect my computer, however i had something similar to this:
Image

Since dial up is basicly the same as a phone call then i could use both at the same time, however i needed to have that "double microfilter" to assure that.


Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:40 pm
noob

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:50 am
Posts: 4
Post Re: How to connect dreamcast?
Thanks for your Posts!!!

what service do you have?

Verizion

i have a PC-DC server set up right now. if you can't use dial up then it is your best bet. its not easy to set up and the easiest OS to use it windows 98.

luckly for me me I have actrual win95/98/XP/vista CD and a old school computer since most win95/98 games dont like XP/Vista

Thanks and keep them coming
Skaredmask


Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:59 pm
Profile
Quantic Dream
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:38 am
Posts: 1670
Location: michigan
Post Re: How to connect dreamcast?
sounds like you have the big stuff taken care of. now all you need is a line voltage simulator or a model A dreamcast modem. and maybe an external PC dial up modem.

for my set up i use an internal PC modem. this works with out a line voltage simulator too. having the model 670-14140A Dreamcast modem is key in my set up. when i try using it with the 670-14140B modems it will not connect.


Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:44 pm
Profile YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
© 2014 dreamcast-talk.com
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin